Home > spirit > Angel of the North

Angel of the North

Angels Angels Angels … I love that word, it has such a soft and gentle feel about it does`nt it? Most folk I reckon like this word because of everything it evokes in us. Hope.Help.Happiness.Safety.Comfort. I sometimes get the feeling that if you asked 100 people whether they believed in God and whether they believed in Angels, I reckon Angels might just win out? I reckon even the movies like Angels a lot, try to think of all the films with Angels(of all sorts of course!!) in them, I bet you can come up with a few, eh? Angels are everywhere in our various cultures/religions and they appear to give those who believe in them strength … What is your view on Angels? How do they appear to you to do their job? (assuming they are gainfully employed that is!!)

This is a small pic I took early mon. morning this week of a statue overlooking a motorway in the north east of England, at Gateshead. It is called the “Angel of the North” and was designed by sculptor Antony Gormley. It is a massive feat of building and is the most viewed piece of art in the country considering the amount of traffic going by! Take a look at the link to it above to gain a true appreciation of its size, my poor shot does it no justice, I was just pleased to be able to “grab” it thru` a car windscreen in atrocious weather! Clicking on it may take you to the large version at Flickr … hopefully…

Categories: spirit Tags: , , ,
  1. April 9, 2008 at 3:36 pm

    I’d like to see this someday. Incredible.
    Hi Catherine, it is indeed an incredible sight. Thanks for your kind comment! šŸ™‚

  2. April 9, 2008 at 3:49 pm

    Lovely shot Ceeque, thanks for sharing it and the idea of Angels.

    M
    Hi Martha, thanks for that, so, you believe in Angels then?

  3. April 10, 2008 at 10:14 am

    i believed in angels as i believed in God…because the angels are the messenger of God…each of us has guardian Angel that guide us….same as i believed angels were not only the typical we know that has wings and with halo on their head…Angel may be found in the persona of our family,children.friends,people around us,and even strangers…I think we already encounter angels in our daily living.They are the angel that manifest God’s love, the one who protect us,understands,accompany us,guide us and support us…
    Hi Rhosie, thank you for this comment, it is the same way I feel about them too! They are always among us, in many different guises, šŸ™‚

  4. April 11, 2008 at 4:50 am

    yeah, its true….they are what we call angels flying without wings…
    Have a nice day!!!

  5. April 11, 2008 at 1:35 pm

    I honestly don’t know Ceeque. I do think about it though.
    M

  6. April 20, 2008 at 6:49 pm

    Angels…everywhere…everyday…every hour…in my life, at least. All sizes, shapes and forms…and I love them all.

    Lovely shot, Charles. šŸ™‚
    Thanks Lorri! Hope you`re ok? šŸ™‚

  7. brother reg
    May 2, 2008 at 7:09 am

    Angels………………..sometimes I don’t have enough chairs for all of them……….but I keep hearing more wings a flapping….. and have to find more chairs.
    Forever cursed with the BLUES….or is that really a curse?

    reg
    Hi Reg! Great to hear from you again, I pray you are ok? Keep pluckin` my friend! šŸ™‚

  8. May 4, 2008 at 6:15 pm

    I had an interesting experience the other day, when doing online genealogy research on Scotland’s People website. I put information into a marriage search, and inadvertently put the year through 1952, when the year couldn’t go past 1932. All of a sudden, a red line of text appeared telling me I couldn’t input data past 1932, and then within a second (literally) the information I requested came up on the screen, a marriage for 1941. I had the quick sense to copy it, thank goodness, becuase within two seconds it was gone, never to be seen again. I tried the same thing three more times, and nothing, of course, but the red text, reminding me about the year. And, in my “images viewed” on the site (your viewings get saved automatically), nothing was there for that entry.

    Hmmmmm, I think someone/something wanted me to see that information. It was not a coincidence, as far as I’m concerned.

  9. May 4, 2008 at 6:16 pm

    Hi Charles,

    How are you doing? I’ve been busy in my garden, and doing some research. Time has gotten away from me.

  10. May 7, 2008 at 4:58 pm

    Hi Charles, just dropping by to say hi, I have been absent for a while but am back. You know of my believe in Angels, They are constantly here among us.
    I finally got to do a post on the book nearest to me and put in a link to your site. It was a good challenge.
    Hope all is well with you my friend
    Bill

  11. June 11, 2008 at 7:14 pm

    Thanks for your comment Charles. I hope you are doing well.

  12. June 19, 2008 at 9:46 am

    Somehow i missed the point. Probably lost in translation šŸ™‚ Anyway … nice blog to visit.

    cheers, Schooling.
    Thanks for stopping by and for your kind comment! šŸ™‚

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

