Home > Uncategorized > Remembrance Sunday

Remembrance Sunday

Vic Ted Iris RexΒ 1940

 

I thought I would take the opportunity to just remind folk that here in blighty its the time of the year when we pay tribute to all the folk who fought in the greatest conflict in history. Its “Poppy Day” as I fondly remember it. I was`nt alive back then and know that most of us were`nt, the survivors of the Second World War are growing ever smaller simply because of age and the parades thru` the various towns and cities grows smaller in number accordingly so I write this “Lest we forget”…

I don`t want to write a huge tribute/memorial type of post, there are people out there far better than me at expressing this better, I just don`t want us to forget all who died in this conflict ….

God Bless `em all …

The pic above shows my my family during the conflict, in 1940. From left to right, My Uncle Vic, my Dad(Ted), my Auntie Iris and Uncle Rex in the back garden at my Aunties house where she lived with her brother, Rex. You can just see at the right of them the mound covered with lines of flowers and at the top some bricks. This was their air-raid shelter where they spent many a long night as the bombs fell very near by. The shelter remained in her garden til at least 2003 when sadly my Auntie passed over. The only one still with us is Uncle Vic ….

red poppy

Categories: Uncategorized Tags:
  1. November 12, 2007 at 10:10 am

    Thanks for the thoughtful post Ceeque. We should remember all who have fought and lost their lives for their countries during war. Many leave home and don’t come back. Others come back but are forever broken in mind or body.
    M

    Thanks Martha, yes we should indeed remember and keep close to us these times of War …. and hopefully, Learn from them!

  2. November 12, 2007 at 6:40 pm

    Charles, my friend this is such a nice post. I thank you for share the very personal insight. The picture of your family while going through the war. It is very special.
    I hope all is well with you my friend.

    Thanks Bill, I hope you are feeling well at the mo?

  3. Jo Hart
    November 13, 2007 at 4:04 am

    Glad you are ok ceeque, I just noticed you not writing lately on Bills site and hoped you were ok. I like reading your comments and yours and Bills banter.
    I’ve become quite fond of all the regulars on Bills blog and I am glad you are fine. . Thanks for the answer on bills blog, I thought I had better reply here.Keep smiling and know there are people all over who care. Many prayers coming from me to you.
    Cheers Jo

    Thanks Jo, thats very kind of you, yes I`m sorry not to have been around much, just a bit of negativity on my part I guess …

  4. November 13, 2007 at 5:31 am

    What a lovely tribute, Charles, to those before, and those after.

    Take care.

    Thanks Lorri, I saw your wonderful Tribute too but was unable to leave a comment there I`m afraid?

  5. November 13, 2007 at 5:46 pm

    Hi Bill…yes, for that particular post…I turned off comments. I wanted the words to speak for themselves.

    Hugs

    well thats alright then….but I`m charlie honestly I am! πŸ™‚

  6. Jo Hart
    November 14, 2007 at 2:51 am

    Hi Ceeque, I think we are all allowed to have our bad days. Believe you me, I have had a few myself of late. As long as we know there are people around who love us thats what helps me through it. Take care good man and keep smiling. Jo

    Thanks Jo! πŸ™‚

  7. November 14, 2007 at 4:53 pm

    CeeQue my friend, Thank you for this loving tribute. It’s so nice to see the old photo of your family and makes me want to check out some of our photos too….I’d have to climb through alot of stuff first though.

    I’m so thankful for those folks who fought and still fight to protect their country and for us. I feel for them and for their families as well.

    Hey, you’ve been feeling negatively? Come that way anyway and I think you’ll find yourself changing – and if you don’t, keep coming anyway. You are loved and cared for.

    Peace and beauty to you today. Do what I did this morning. Go on out there and take a bit of a walk and just breathe and keep your eyes and heart open.

    Love always.

    ~ RubyShooZ ~

    Thank You Ruby for these kind words … I`ll be having a short wander out in a bit I reckon..

  8. November 15, 2007 at 5:19 am

    LOL, Charles…yes, I know who you are. But, Bill, had just said the same thing to me…lolol. πŸ™‚

    Oooopsy daisy.

    I thought it was really funny and I fell off the chair at the time! Lol. Brilliant! I thought I was the only one who did things like that! πŸ™‚

  9. November 15, 2007 at 4:00 pm

    No, you aren’t the only one who does things like that. LOLOL. I am known for that type of behavior. πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  10. November 18, 2007 at 6:17 pm

    charles……thanks for the birthday wishes. I’m looking forward to seeing your mirror pictures!!!! Hugs.

    Hope you had a gud `un Catherine, pics should be done in the next few days I hope! πŸ™‚

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

