Home > Uncategorized > So,what DO you expect?

So,what DO you expect?

That`s another great word is`nt it? “Expect”.. Kinda just rolls off your tongue, nice feel, nice sound, cool word…. Here`s a link to Websters defining it, Expect. Was going to define it here but there`s a lot to it… Anyway, what do you expect when on the interweb? I write in this, my own little blog and sometimes I wonder why? Do I expect something from it? Is it because I expect to get lots of hits or lots of feedback/comments? Or is it something else entirely? To make lots of friends? Its a lot of questions really…I must admit I puzzle over them as I started this blog with no actual intention other than to be able to “do” one! It seems everyone has a website/presence and I wanted to prove to myself that I could also. I did not expect to meet loads of very marvelous people or get masses of page views and comments etc, I just did`nt! The thing is, I still don`t! I actually expect nothing and have been like that for as long as I can remember because I figure, if you expect nothing and get something, its a real bonus and you appreciate it far more which is exactly how I feel now. I belong to a number of so-called “social-networking” type sites and sometimes I see behavior which really puzzles me and its all to do with “expectation”. I see quite often people take offence at the fact that they are`nt replied to or commented back often enough and it really bothers me that they are like this…..

Personally, I have been overjoyed at the people who have stopped by, left comments or emails etc. I have met thru` this blog many a good person. I don`t expect it even though I may wish it. Is`nt it strange!? Its almost paradoxical, why have a “web-presence” if you expect nothing from it? Oh well, there`s nowt so strange as folk!

So if I may ask, what do you expect from your blog/website? Theres that paradox again..if I ask a question online, do I expect an answer? My answer is no, I do not expect it…but it would obviously be nice and would in my case be very appreciated! I also know that asking a question of your intended audience is the best way to elicit a response, or so some of the tutorials on writing blogs and getting a better web presence would have us believe!

shortstick

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. marthamihaly
    August 24, 2007 at 1:49 pm

    Hi Ceeque,

    Good question. I expect to be stimulated on line, and to likewise stimulate others. This can be good or bas I suppose. That’s all though. I like your post, keep it up!

  2. August 24, 2007 at 3:09 pm

    Martha : Yes, thats a super answer, I never thought of that but you probably hit it all right on the head, Stimulation! Spot on! πŸ™‚

  3. August 25, 2007 at 12:55 am

    Hi Charles,
    I blog because it’s fun. We can learn things, share things, laugh, cry.
    I struggle with expectations in relationships sometimes……but I think it has more to do with balance for me.
    Hope you are doing well………..and biking!!!
    Catherine

  4. August 25, 2007 at 2:29 am

    Catherine : Thank You greatly for your input and for calling round! Biking has been very subdued over here due to our weather not doing us any favours…I hope you will be telling us of your cycling adventures?

  5. August 25, 2007 at 4:47 am

    I don’t expect much from my blog. I blog for myself, mainly, and not for a response from others. I use my blog to write my view of my garden, and to display some photos I have taken here and there, in my travels through my neighborhood, etc.

    I write about whatever strikes me…without expectations. It is also a way to let me family (living all over the world) to know what I have been up to, if anything.

  6. August 25, 2007 at 12:15 pm

    Lorri : Hi! Thanks for that…interesting to note that you use it to let family know stuff, thats actually a really good idea and interesting for them too…

  7. August 25, 2007 at 5:27 pm

    Charles…my family and I email each other and talk all of the time, but it is easier for them to visually see what is going on in my life, my thoughts, etc., without having to send emails with tons of attacments.

  8. reggiehudson
    August 28, 2007 at 9:53 am

    Brother Charles,
    What can I say? I’ve felt we’ve connected exponentially, to your normal connections on the web. A Passion for Life, Music, and oh how those two are connected! Keep being Charles. Expectations from others….. as far as my point of view, is minuscule. Hell, I’ve never once been able to fulfill my own expectations.

    reg

  9. August 28, 2007 at 1:21 pm

    Reg : Hi Reg! Hah! You and me both!! πŸ™‚

  10. August 29, 2007 at 7:35 pm

    Charles, my friend. I think this is an excellent post, one to make us all stop and think.
    For my blog, I admit to having hopes but no expectations. My hope is to by sharing my story possibly help others in a similar situation.
    You are right when you say if we have expectations we are setting ourselves up for a let down, this in all areas of life. Here on the blog world, many have great restrictions on the amount of time they can spend each day on the computer. Some it is limited time. Time can be limited for a wide variety of reasons, busy lives, health issues many things. I am sure all do their best within the time they have, being friends both visiting other sites and responding to comments.
    Sorry I haven’t been around much of late, had some other issues going on.
    Bill

  11. August 29, 2007 at 9:58 pm

    Bill : Hi Bill, thanks for calling round and you raise some interesting issues re the time thing. We have exactly the same expectations then I see….we don`t have any! Lol! πŸ™‚

  12. September 5, 2007 at 3:57 pm

    Just popping in. πŸ™‚

  13. September 17, 2007 at 2:08 pm

    I’ve grown to try and not have expectations about blogging but I always hope that someone is reading. It’s almost like talking to yourself.
    I’ve thought of creating a private blog as well and seeing what sort of things I would write and it would be interesting if others did this as well.

    Namaste, hope you’re having a beautiful day.

    ~ RS ~

  14. September 17, 2007 at 2:32 pm

    Ruby! : Hi you! Have been looking around and reading your lovely Piece of Peace! Don`t you dare stop writing it! Lol!!
    πŸ™‚

  15. October 23, 2007 at 10:25 pm

    Give me an old cool bicycle, and I’ll ride around the city for days.

  16. Idetrorce
    December 16, 2007 at 6:55 am

    very interesting, but I don’t agree with you
    Idetrorce

    Many Thanks for your comment anyway! Appreciate it!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

