Home > Uncategorized > Its That Time Again!

Its That Time Again!

First of all I apologise for the lack of any form of writing here, especially as a “blog” is mainly for that exact purpose!! Anyway…my excuse is simple..its been raining over here…and raining a lot. I`ve never seen anything like this before..two months of solid rainfall with the occasional break to allow the clouds to gather more wetstuff. The thing is…its so depressing..constant greyness and rain is not my cup of tea at all! Many parts of the country have been badly flooded, people losing homes and possessions and you just know that there are going to be a lot of folk with no insurance cover and in one part of the country the good `ol water authority have actually said that they would increase their charges to help cover the cost of the flooding! See, we must be one of the only places where you can get flooded..and pay for it! Oh well…

…and then there is the sheer audacity of this rain increasing foliage growth at the most ridiculous rate which has led me to do something else I really don`t like…gardening !!! Aaaaargghhh!!!! Now I know full well that most of the blogging people that I admire all like their gardens and probably think I am some kind of wastrel for not liking this pursuit. Well you are all correct! I don`t like gardening and probably never will though I love gardens and greenery and plants to bits. Paradox? You betcha! I got my reasons! So after the rain decided to stay absent for a few days it finally dawned on me that to enable people to reach my front door I would have to do something. So for a 3 hour period I hacked my way, machete in hand, to the furthest outreach of the driveway and there discovered that there really was life outside the Veil of Foliage! Yay!! Cars were parked next door…and there were children playing football in the alley next to my domain!!! I could`nt quite believe it….there really is Life Out There!!! It was at around this time that I discovered that my machete swings were`nt actually cutting anything or hitting anything and that my actions on discovering Life had affected my blood-sugars to the detriment and so crawled back thru`the undergrowth/felled trees, etc, to test my blood and get a swift dose of the sugar-mountain. After regaining some form of intelligence and looking out at what lay before me I realised that although things looked a lot better, there was still much to do…and promptly gave up on it and retreated inside the home domain…there`s another day coming… really, there is….

shortstick

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. August 2, 2007 at 1:43 pm

    Charles,
    It’s good to see you writing again. Glad to hear you aren’t under water at your house!

    Gardens, a time consuming hobby aren’t they. I like gardening in the dead of summer when it is bone dry, and nothing (like weeds or plants) grow. Really all there is to do is watch and water.

    Hate spring weeds, fall clean up. Oh well.

    Take it easy with the machete.
    Martha

  2. August 2, 2007 at 8:16 pm

    Martha : I like the sound of your summers!!! Lol!! πŸ™‚

  3. August 3, 2007 at 12:05 am

    Charles my friend. I am so glad to see you up and at it again.
    I have been watching on the news of all the rain you have been getting. I am glad you are alright but feel so sorry for those that have been flooded.
    I can just picture you outside machete in hand, a really good story. Take care of your blood sugars, I am only starting to realize how much they can affect you.
    I am right there with you, in the hating gardening stuff. I am so blessed to have Vi. For some reasons that I don’t understand, she loves it. She does the work and I reap the benefits. Works well for me.
    Take care my friend
    Bill

  4. August 3, 2007 at 12:38 am

    Bill : Hi Bill, thanks for stopping by again! Yeah, me am still here. I wish I had a partner who liked gardening but I guess cats don`t count! I remember my ex missus gave me a very leading hand ( I just cleared away what she cut down!) a few years back and was amazed at her knowledge of what and how to effectively cut and clear stuff…and that it was enjoyable when theres two of you at it!

  5. Grace
    August 3, 2007 at 3:03 am

    Hi Ceeque πŸ™‚ Thank you so much for commenting on 13Graces. I do have a new blog if you’re interested..

    http://www.thePhoenixEffect.blogspot.com. I haven’t figured out how to link it to my name here πŸ™‚

    I had to giggle at your post..I love gardening…the smell of the dirt, pulling weeds, planting seeds LOL Too bad I wasn’t closer, I could help you out! πŸ˜‰

  6. August 3, 2007 at 4:06 am

    Charles, if I was there, you know I would hack away, and make you clean up after me. I love gardening, as you know.

    Hugs!

  7. August 3, 2007 at 9:46 am

    Grace : Thanks so much for stopping by and glad my gardening skills got a smirk!! Its not a lot of fun deciding whether to cut stuff down when after you`ve done it someone comes along and sez things like..”oh dear, that was a so-and-so and if you`d done this that and the other to it and blah-de-blah-de blah..it would have turned into a beautiful world-beating flowering gorgeousness of shattering intensity”…and then you kinda curl up into a corner and start crying swearing NEVER to venture forth into this puzzling environment again…..
    Thanks also for the link…I have found it now and will add it here for you?

  8. August 3, 2007 at 9:54 am

    Lorri : Lorri!!! πŸ™‚ Well Thanks for the offer lorri but I would`nt want to drag you half way across the world to do my garden for me!!

  9. August 3, 2007 at 11:14 am

    Hey Charles,

    I’ve heard the news reports of too much
    rain over in your part of the world.
    It must be happening because it’s
    totally skipping over my state of OHIO. πŸ™‚
    We are in a big rain deficit.
    The only benefit is that the lawn/grass
    does not grow. Going 3 or 4 weeks between
    mowing is a strange thing.

    The only thing a dry summer beats is
    winter in our area. 2 winters ago we
    had 142 inches ( 43.28 meters ) of snow
    for the season.

    I’ve had a bit of a drought when it
    comes to writing at my blog, but that’s
    not something you can ~force~. LOL
    “This too shall pass”

    xo xo
    Deb

  10. August 4, 2007 at 8:08 pm

    Deb : Hi There again! Yes its pretty strange about the weather nowadays and I remember lorri above saying how her state was in drought conditions too…but 142 inches of snow!! Thats a LOT of snow, we hardly see it here anymore, apart from mountain tops!

  11. August 5, 2007 at 2:40 am

    Yes, we are still in drought conditions, here, Charles. We are so behind in rainfall. It is affecting crops, hay for the farm animals, lawns and yards, etc. The extreme heat of high ninety degree temperatures (possibly triple digits in the next few days), is causing major air quality issues, and heat and health issues for the aged.

    We were restricted on water usage in our yards, too.

    I know the rain is devastating, and I feel terrible for all of those people who lost their homes, lives, the injured, etc. If it isn’t one form of weather, it’s another, that devastates.

    Take care, and stay safe.

  12. August 5, 2007 at 4:32 pm

    Lorri : Thanks for that lorri, yes, its becoming a very noticeable concern to us ordinary folk out there, we can all see for ourselves now what is going on with this weather and that climate change is real and is “seeable” !

  13. August 5, 2007 at 7:02 pm

    Greetings. Thank you so much for visiting with me and gracing me with your kind words. I’m praying for us all. Mother earth and all her beings. Take great care of youself. I’ll be back to visit with you again soon. Blessings for sowing and harvesting all the things good in life, MW

  14. August 6, 2007 at 2:42 am

    motherwintermoon : Thanks for stopping by, I have used the “Let it Go” piece myself, lovely writing, lovely message…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

