Home > Uncategorized > Music in `69…a Meme.

Music in `69…a Meme.

 Ok, ok, you can now all go put the blame on  Miriam of Radiantwoman  fame for this and check out her “Music in 1977” article in which she tagged me to do the same. So the basic idea of Miriam`s is to write about the Hits you love and were affected  by from your High School years (in my case, “secondary” school years!) So I have chosen 1969 as my memorable year as thats the year I left school for my great beginning in reality…the workplace. 15 when I left and could`nt wait but after 2 weeks off and basking in freedom my Dad, God Bless him, kicked me out of the house one very hot and sunny day with the immortal words, “………and don`t come back `til you`ve got a job!”

My five songs from the year? Here goes nothin`….

1. Heard It Through the Grapevine/Marvin Gaye : total smouldering r&b from a master, beautiful and sexy song to eye the ladies in the disco`s I had just started to frequent ( I could get in just about anywhere…) What a time! Disco`s had kicked off bigtime and were just the bestist of places!

2. Honky Tonk Women/Rolling Stones : The group that spelled danger then! If theres one thing I love about music its a great riff, this lot had it in spades, masters of the great riff care of the Keith Richards guitar treatment. Yeah! I started to play guitar when I was about 14 and used to bore all my friends to utter desolation trying to emulate riffs like this on a cheap spanish guitar…..This and the next 2 songs are all real riffy ones and were partly responsible for the first band I was ever in(cos it was my own!) “Charlies Achievements” . There were 2 of us is all, well I figured that the money we were going to earn would be easy to divide by 2 and there`d be more of it too! Never learnt a thing but made a LOT of noise!It was all my brothers fault anyhow, he was a drummer in a REAL band and when he practised in our outside “wash house” the whole street came to see the bombs going off!

3. Get Back/The Beatles : Another riff-driven Paul McCartney singalong song that was a joy to sing with…and still is!

4. Come Together/The Beatles : Lovely psychedelia yet still got a great riff! How DO they do it!

5. Sugar Sugar/The Archies : Oh give me a break!!! You CANNOT be SERIOUS!!! Well yes actually, this was a very serious song purposely designed to drive people totally nuts when myself and accompanying gang sang it out loud on the top deck of a double decker bus thus proving the fact that these one-hit wonder type groups could be heard by everyone at some time therefore not being totally forgotten……..

So there, 5 goodies from a time gone by, schooldays gone by and the passage into adulthood upon us, they were some times I know that, they were a lot simpler too somehow!

 shortstick

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. reggiehudson
    June 16, 2007 at 7:31 am

    WOW…we’re treading on some sacred ground here with this discussion…………

    1969 yes sir…….Jeff Beck and Rod Stewart’s release of the album called TRUTH..and yes it was.
    I wanted to play the guitar as a dumb ass kid listening to the Ventures(an early sixties instrumental band) and tried my best to emulate them. But one day…Damn it…. Jimi Hendrix came along.
    Back to Brother Jeff Beck, a Brother that has never gotten the respect he deserves…..Yet he really don’t give a sh@t about respect…it’s all about just being allowed to play to him.

    A Brother indeed!

  2. June 16, 2007 at 8:43 am

    great list, all about guitars and rhythm. I love the Beatles. My mum used to tell me that when I was born the nurses called me the beatle. I had a lot of black hear for a new born. Did you have fun thinking up this list?

  3. June 16, 2007 at 10:32 am

    Okay ceeque. My list would be 1984
    Sunglasses at night – corey harte
    Jump,Van Halen
    Stuck on you, Lionel Richie (we all need a break up memory)
    Purple Rain – Prince
    Rock you like a hurricane – Scorpions

    Not all my favourites, but iconic in my musical development.
    Hm..a blast to the past.

  4. June 16, 2007 at 2:26 pm

    Hi Reggie! : I think maybe you should be doing this! In fact, you can consider yourself TAGGED!! You right about Jeff Beck, really “out there” in his day…so when you get a new site up lets hear about yours!

    Radiantwoman : Yes I did enjoy this exercise of yours!! Lol!!

  5. reggiehudson
    June 17, 2007 at 7:33 am

    O.K. since I’ve been tagged….Here’s but a preface of my tagging. A clip of My Brother……although we’ve never met or the chances of us actually being kinfolk is probably quite remote……..I know this is my Brother. Technique is easy….yet you’ll spend you life freely and trade it in a heart beat….. just looking for the Tone. One single note held out for soooo….long…because it was…..just, so right.
    I give you a MASTER………Jeff Beck

    List forthcoming,

    Brother Reg

  6. reggiehudson
    June 21, 2007 at 6:01 am

    Dude…I’m one of those unfortunate b*stard’s that got locked into music. 1969 may still have me listening every damn night to certain songs that touched me years before. I’m trying brother I’m trying. 2001 A Space Odyssey yes…..Jeff Beck Truth album….yes……..Band Of Gypsy’s…… Jimi Hendrix and Buddie Myles…yes…….Damn Bro song’s like Ina Goda Daveda(Iron Butterfly from a few years earlier…whom I got see perform) Damn…..this is a hard choice!

    Your Brother,
    Reg

  7. June 21, 2007 at 8:57 am

    reggie : Know exactly what you mean!! 🙂 As an all time favourite I`d have to go with Band of Gypsys/Jimi Hendrix…I am still utterly awestruck with the power of that album, Hendrix at his best to me, who can forget “Machine Gun”, the single most powerful piece of guitar I have ever heard anywhere anytime, it makes you cry…..

  8. reggiehudson
    June 21, 2007 at 8:26 pm

    O.K. I listed 4 kind of sorta…..My fifth installment would have to be…..it was actually released in 68 but I got to see them perform it live in 69…so that counts! The band Steppenwolf, the song The Pusher. I loved that song and would listen to it over and over and over. It had nothing to do with the profanity in it which many were turned on by…..but rather it was those slow killer melodic blues guitar riffs. I’ve got that dang CD around here somewhere…am going to have to find it and listen to it over and over.

    Reg

  9. June 21, 2007 at 9:34 pm

    Reg : I LOVE THAT SONG SO MUCH!!!!! are we twins or somethin`?? 🙂

  10. June 22, 2007 at 12:11 am

    I would have to go with the main song (and the entire soundtrack, for that matter) from the musical “Hair”. Having seen it performed in 1969-70 in both NY and CA, it is a classic for me.

  11. June 22, 2007 at 1:05 am

    Lorri : remember that well too, it was`nt my cup of tea at the time but that came later when I could appreciate it more. Twice eh? Now thats keen! It must have left a big impression!

  12. reggiehudson
    June 22, 2007 at 3:18 am

    One more for good measure…..1969….Grand Funk Railroad’s
    Inside Looking Out. Here’s the video from 69. I always wished Mark Farner would’ve expressed his soul as he did in on this when he finally got down on the lead parts for this song on many more of their songs. Mel was perhaps a new generation of Bass Players…And Don Brewer’s ability on the drums…was unbelievable. Yep laid on my bed with stereo speakers up against each ear listening to this song.

    Grand Funk

    Reg

  13. June 22, 2007 at 4:19 am

    Now, give me the Moody Blues…Nights in White Satin. Memorable, indeed.

  14. reggiehudson
    June 22, 2007 at 5:05 am

    LorriM.,
    …you are a sister aren’t you! Break my heart, throw me on the ground and call me a “Man Named Sue”( Johnny Cash)…this song was capable of doing that with me as well….of course I guess in your case it would be called a “Woman Named Frank”. Have been working on cello & guitar parts to express what it meant to me for years…..To me that song is akin to a dog just being happy as crap to run up and down his fence because he’s been penned up all day because of your #ss. Will spend hours and hours just relaxing…chasing that song.
    Excellent choice sis…….there are no Knights in White Satan….Nor Princess’s Guinevere’s…..Never Reaching The End…Righteous, Righteous Song. Thank you…. a song I run around the fence with quite often!

    …..and thank you Charles, for letting us know Charles……Damn….another Brother and a Brother you are.

    Your Brother,
    Reg

  15. June 22, 2007 at 5:59 pm

    LOL, on a “Woman Named Frank”…indeed, so. 🙂

    Yes, Nights in White Satin is an all-time favorite of mine, for so many wonderful reasons.

    Ahhhh, Reg, speaking of a “Righteous Song, how about “You’ve Lost That Lovin Feeling, by The Righteous Bros? A bit further back in time (’65’), but always a classic, no matter the decade or generation.

    Oh, and another…lolol…I am on a tangent, here….”Bridge Over Troubled Water”, by Simon and Garfunkel. What can I say, it isn’t just the vocals that beckon me on that one, but that thunder, that violin, the orchestra, the everything.

  16. reggiehudson
    June 23, 2007 at 5:13 am

    You know what guys I think I’m going to set up an old farts page on my site…just for this purpose……Lost That Loving Feeling, Bridge Over Troubled Waters (something about that song just makes my spirit ache)…And the mental image of Charles and his mates on top of a double decker bus singing Sugar, Sugar!….reminds me of so many memories…all good….yep dad gummit, I’m a setting that page up……How Has Music Touched You..You Old Fart….Yep…Love the title that’s it…be looking for it in the next few days on my site.
    I guess I need to thank Radiantwoman for starting this madness.

    Brother Charles and all…thank you for some wonderful memories,

    Reg

  17. reggiehudson
    June 25, 2007 at 7:43 am

    Did you get the 2001 tracks?

  18. reggiehudson
    June 27, 2007 at 4:32 am

    Alright brother……..time for a new post……what’s going on with Charles?

    Reg

  19. July 3, 2007 at 7:12 pm

    Charles my friend you just get finished one post on being tagged and here I am tagging you again. You are someone I would like to learn more about
    Bill

  20. July 30, 2007 at 12:58 am

    Charles!!!

  21. July 30, 2007 at 1:55 am

    lorri : Lorri!! 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

