Home > Uncategorized > Sideboard Story

Sideboard Story

ceeque.gifDred Icon

Sideboard

Ok, this is a strange tale and no, its not fiction either..this is a small piece about my sideboard, pictured above and some pretty strange “coincidences” associated with it…so we`ll go “off track” a bit into an even stranger world.

This sideboard belonged originally to my favourite Aunty Iris who sadly for all of us, passed over in March 2003. Her Last Will itself was a thing of beauty, meticulous and extremely detailed and in this will she specified that I was to receive this sideboard from her, along with some other bits and pieces. I have to say here that everyone, and I mean everyone, who met my Aunt, loved her to bits and to me she was simply my “other mum”….our family misses this lady more than words can say.  This sideboard was one of a pair Iris had in her home, the main sideboard went to my big sis, quite rightly, as she had the space and ability to give it a very comfortable home, which she has indeed. Her sideboard is a serious bit of kit and it would stand up to being displayed in a stately home as far as I`m concerned!!! The sideboard above, now mine, I remember standing on and crawling around inside when I was a little`un. All of us, as youngsters, could quite happily play with this piece quite merrily, however, the main sideboard was a seriously “off-limits” bit of kit which we all probably regarded with awe as it is a seriously imposing piece. So my sideboard took a bit of punishment and suffered quite a bit and there was a part missing off it and the handles were missing and it was a bit scratched…well you get the idea…But it is still a lovely lovely piece of furniture and I love everything about it! Thank You Iris.

Are we going anywhere with this? Nothing weird about being left an item of furniture with great sentimental value is there? Bear with me here…. In March, 2002, my son, James, passed over. In Dec. of that year we consulted with a spiritual medium to help us all basically. So a man we did`nt know came round to my home and with all of the immediate family present told us alot of things which gave me great hope and a new found faith in a God I previously did`nt know. This man is not on any kind of “circuit” and appeared to have no agenda, not even payment, just a wish to help..he was recommended to me by a lady on the web who had seen him and knew he lived in the same city as I did. The important part: during this reading, the man described James` passing(very accurately I might add) but then became confused and asked me a really strange question…”did James like motorbikes?” To which I sputtered I did`nt really know but then thought most youngsters like motorbikes! He became quite confused at this point as he said with conviction that “no, there was a fatal motorbike accident”…..and yet he had just described James` passing to us all with quite a degree of accuracy. So he simply ended that bit with the remark, “must be a crossed line here I think, someone else must be trying to get through…” And with that he moved on to other things.

We`re getting there, have faith!! Fast forward a month, Jan, 2003, freezing cold morning and my wonderful cousin Andy picked me up for a trip out with him. Andy has become a master of finding and charting our families geneological tree and had been consulting with Aunty Iris the previous few days. It turned out she had told him a most amazing thing and this he passed on to me that morning and it has changed everything for me. My Aunty lived in a house in the 1920`s with relatives of ours. They lived approx. 300 yards from where I`m sitting now, they had a son in that house, his name was James Quick, he was 18 years old and he died in a motorbike accident on a crossroads that still exists about half a mile away. He was riding motorbikes as they were a very new thing and he must have really fancied them!!! We are directly related.

So, whats with the sideboard story? Heres the kicker, my cousin Andy just literally found out where it came from. His Dad is now the only one of his generation left and told him that the sideboard I now own came from the house only 300 yards away…it was given to my Aunty Iris when she set up her own home by the relatives she was living with in the 20`s…….

Amazing? I think so. All just coincidence? You think? I don`t and now know there is a world apart from this, “Heaven” for want of a better term, a better place….just to end this, when my blessed Aunty passed over my daughter and I two days after her passing went to our local spiritualist church, a place we had come to visit infrequently but sometimes just needed to, and in front of the church goers there were told that “she`s alright now, don`t worry, she had a massive heart attack but she`s alright now” and..”stop crying( cos we were!!!) she`ll see you at the funeral”!  So there you go! Bless them all and bless especially another James Quick from long ago who played a big part in showing me another world and Bless especially my son James Quick, for he is with the Best of Company now…..”its just a little time”.

shortstick

Categories: Uncategorized Tags:
  1. May 3, 2007 at 3:13 am

    Great story. Thanks for sharing it. I was just at your blog site yesterday and was going to comment that I wanted you to write more, it had been awhile………..but didn’t. You must have read my mind because today we’re blessed with this wonderful story. thanks again!!!!

  2. May 3, 2007 at 10:04 am

    Thank you Catherine, yes, the story above is just the tip of a large iceberg. I really want to write more but for some reason,which does bother me a lot, often can`t find the words!! Thanks again Catherine, very appreciated! 🙂

  3. May 3, 2007 at 11:57 am

    That story is a little freeky! I am glad you wrote again too. Keep up the good work.
    Martha

  4. May 3, 2007 at 8:35 pm

    Freaky but true Martha…and just a small tip of the iceberg. Thank you.

  5. May 5, 2007 at 1:57 am

    Charles this is amazing. I do believe there are mediums out there that really do have a gift. I thank you for confirming that for me. I have my faith and my beliefs but with my health I still somehow find it reassuring to hear a story such as yours thank you.
    Bill

  6. May 5, 2007 at 9:41 am

    Thank You so much Bill for that, I can completely understand your very human need for reassurance, something we all need from time to time…I will send you further stories! Hope you`re feeling okey-dokey at the mo!?

  7. May 7, 2007 at 3:51 am

    What a wonderful and inspiring story, Charles! I don’t believe in coincidence, but rather in things being meant to be. And, in this case, there you go! I am sure it is quite comforting to you.

    I think we all have the potential for insight, in the medium aspect, if only we knew how to exercise it correctly.

    Hugs

  8. May 8, 2007 at 12:07 am

    me too lorri, I agree wholeheartedly now, we just need to open our minds a bit from the fact based idealogy we seem to live in…?

  9. May 8, 2007 at 4:12 am

    Yes, I think the same, we need to open our minds, and be in the frame of mind to accept our feelings and instincts.

  10. May 10, 2007 at 10:54 am

    ceeque,
    Thank you for sharing your memories of James with us. He was a lovely young man. Can you email me and let me know what you think of the mechanics of the site? Any suggestions for change?

  11. May 10, 2007 at 11:37 am

    will do Martha! Let me try and put some cohesion into the thought process!! THAT ain`t too easy!!! I think I tend to blather on a bit personally…… 🙂

  12. May 17, 2007 at 5:15 pm

    I’m having withdrawl……..time for another post from you.

  13. May 17, 2007 at 6:40 pm

    🙂 Ok Catherine, wilco! 🙂

  14. reggiehudson
    May 22, 2007 at 8:55 am

    I too have memories of the very thing that you described….the sideboard. In this country’s terminology and at the time frame I knew it was called somtething quite different. Sorry have been a little behind in responding to new connections.

    Reg

  15. May 22, 2007 at 8:36 pm

    Thanks for your comment Reg, …the sideboard is all I`ve ever known it as being called personally! I suppose “bureau” is another term but I`ve never used it….? Hope you`re ok anyway?

  16. reggiehudson
    May 26, 2007 at 2:06 am

    Alright Bro, it’s time for another post. Let the rest of us know that you are alive and well. Where has God taken you as of late or better yet knowing my own life…..how many times did He have to spank your butt for playing in the street. Just trying to take a liter side approach to see how you’re doing. Read many of your older posts and the things about your son. Viewed it as a spark of Life within you. Turn that spark into a torch and light us up.

    Brother Reg

  17. May 26, 2007 at 11:08 am

    Thank you so much Reggie! Your words are much welcome thats for sure!

  18. June 13, 2007 at 2:32 pm

    Hi CQ,

    I’ve landed at your site from a site I’ve just
    come upon in the past couple of days…
    Radiant Woman. 🙂

    I had not intended to post comments at her site,
    yet I did and for the same reason I am commenting
    on your site…
    A post just plain REACHED OUT AND GRABBED ME !

    The love of your dear Aunt Iris comes through
    as plain as the glow/shine to this sideboard. 🙂

    Bless the medium who came to you sharing his skill
    of connection to the other side. Spirit allowed not
    only your dearest James to be with you, but the James
    of the past too, all circling back to your ‘Dear Aunty’.
    I’m a believer in Whooooooo who things like this, but
    it’s always wonderful to read such stories that are
    points of confirmation for those who might need a nudge
    to believe.

    What I really wanted to share with you are the words
    to this beautiful poem…
    I cut it out of a magazine Ohhhhhhh so many years ago
    and I’ve shared it with countless people because
    the thoughts are outstanding.
    It was written with a Grandmother in mind, but it can
    also be interpreted for an Aunt.

    Namaste`
    Deb

    ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

    Why Was She Here?

    “When I faced the loss of my dear
    Grandmother Rose, I asked the
    question, ‘Why was she here?’ for I could
    not comprehend a day without her
    gentle smile and caring touch. The loss was
    so painful. But as days and months passed, I
    found that the pain I had felt began to
    transform itself into something completely new.
    The empty hole in my life was slowly
    filled in with a warmth. As I lived again and
    worked myself into a daily routine,
    I began to understand that my successes
    and achievements were her pats on the back,
    her hugs when I was discouraged and her
    stories of her dreams and hopes for her
    children and grandchildren when I had none.

    So, the question ‘Why?’ became clear,
    I realized that my life was an extension of
    hers. When there is a hole someplace in the
    world, I believe a warmth eventually fills it.
    When there is poverty, a richness of spirit
    eventually comes to help.
    I believe we are here for each other; to lift,
    to encourage, to dream. Without that kind of giving,
    we cease to exist. So, as Rose gave to me, I try to
    give to others in my work, in my personal life,
    in my charity. For me, that is why.
    That is harmony.”

    Marlee Matlin
    Academy Award winning
    actress for her part in
    Children of a Lesser God

  19. June 14, 2007 at 2:53 am

    Deb : Many many thanks for your wonderful comment and mail..which I will certainly be replying to when I get a coherent head on..!
    “Why was she here” is a lovely piece and yes, this is my Aunty alright!

  20. June 15, 2007 at 5:20 am

    CQ,

    You are more than welcome.

    I look forward to hearing
    from you when you are available.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

