Home > Uncategorized > Technocrapology….

Technocrapology….

ceeque1.gif

…..Techno Stuff we just take for granted…don`t we?

 

I was around at my sisters the other week, thought I`d take my old broadband modem round there and get her hooked up-we used to use the same isp so thought she should have it as when she applied for broadband she inadvertantly told her isp that she already had a modem! Simple mistake to make one thinks..I mean, we all need a modem of some description to gain access to the interwebby stuff don`t we? Trouble with my sis` instructions…they did`nt actually tell her that broadband needed a different modem than dial-up, they obviously assume now that people read all the info they make available on the subject so that should be that, of course, this is just not the case is it..?

Anyway, after getting her online at a quite reasonable 1.1meg speed I was thinking how much we take this ongoing technical onslaught so easily..don`t you remember the way dial-up modems were measured not so long back? 14400,28000,don`t know what the “thousands” actually were but….I`m sure the technophiles out there do! Then came the ubiquitous 56K modem! YaY!! Total onslaught on the www!! Were we happy, of course not, after all, at work we could get around even faster using something called isdn transfer if I remember rightly…what were those measured in?…64K, 128K, and probably more…and then this ridiculous concept of “broadband” burst out on us and that was just the serious business!!!!

So that came in at everything from about 200K and up, 512K being regarded as the fastest thing evah! Yet still we march on, normal households are blasting away at up to 10meg and I know in Japan they can get up to 24meg or so….I`m still waiting on the holographic projector though, I really fancy talking to little people on the desktop!!!!

I`m not particularly computer literate in the slightest but the advancement in all things computer related over the last 10 years is amazing and frightening at the same time. When I bought my second computer, a pii 350mzh!!!..I read somewhere that this was more computer processing power than was needed to get a man on the moon! What!!! The first machine was a p120mzh that cost a serious pile of money and was the 2nd fastest rated machine in the country at the time! Look at that spec now! Its a serious joke that would get you laughed off the court-and that was about 10 years back, where the hell do we go from here!! I love it!

…goes off to get the playstation on….serious drivin` in Gran Turismo still to be done…..laterz… πŸ™‚

 

Categories: Uncategorized Tags:
  1. Lorri
    April 26, 2006 at 1:33 am

    I hear you, and am no geek, myself. I do remember when, and in fact, my son’s first computer was a texas instrument one, and he also had the old commodore 64 and commodore 128. LOL My gosh, it sounds so antiquated.

    LOL

  2. April 26, 2006 at 1:33 am

    Oh, and it can be frightening, yes.

  3. June 18, 2006 at 7:28 pm

    Thanks for stopping by, Charles, it means a lot. πŸ™‚

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

